Ponds, Pools and Lochans


This guide has been prepared for the Scottish Environment Protection Agency by Pond Action following consultation and discussion with Scottish conservation and environmental protection organisations.

Jeremy Biggs,    Penny Williams,    Mericia Whitfield,     Gill Fox,    Pascale Nicolet

The preparation of this guide was project managed by Katherine Bradshaw (SEPA) on behalf of the HEI Ponds Task Group & HEI Project Board.
Members of Pond Task Group

Stuart Brooks (Scottish Wildlife Trust), Jim Davis (Glasgow City Council), Mike Devlin (SEPA), Ian Dickson (SAC), Willie Duncan (Scottish Natural Heritage), Ian Fozzard (SEPA), Chris Jeffries (University of Abertay), Gaye McKissock (SEPA),
Neil McLean (SEPA), Huw Thomas (SEPA).

We would also like to thank all those people who have provided valuable comments, advice or support during the production of this guide particularly:

Drew Aitken (SEPA), Alison Anderson (Dundee City Council), Hilary Barker (FWAG), Alison Barnes (Dumfries and Galloway), Jim Birrell (Fife Council), Bryce Boyd (Inverclyde Council ), Patricia Bradley (RSPB and SEPA Regional Board Member), Bill Brackenridge (Lanarkshire Council), Allan Brown (Fife Council), Jenni Browne (SEPA), Morven Buchanan (East Ayrshire Council), Alan Church (SEPA), John Clayton (SEPA), Brian Clelland, Sandy Cooke (Fife Council), Teresa Constable (Fife Council), Alan Copeland (East Dunbartonshire Council), Brian DArcy (SEPA), Mike Davidson (SEPA), Neil Deasley ( Clackmannanshire Council), Andy Dorin (Highland Council), Ross Doughty (SEPA), Joanna Drewitt (Scottish Office), David Dunkley (SERAD), Fred Edwards (SEPA Regional Board Member), Jenny Fausset (Midlothian Council), Jim Foster (formerly Froglife, now English Nature), Ian Fox (SEPA ), Hamish Fraser (Comhairle nan Eilean Siar), Ross Gardiner (Freshwater Fisheries Laboratory, Pitlochry), Ken Gibb (South Ayrshire Council), Sarah Gilman (SEPA), Dave Gorman (Falkirk Council), Jennifer Gough (Renfrewshire Council), Willie Halcrow (SEPA), Stephanie Harrison (SEPA), Angela Heaney (Stirling Council), Steve Hunt (Scottish Borders Council), Maree Johnstone (East Lothian Council ), Fran Keith (Scottish Conservation Projects), Darren Kindleysides (RSPB), Jennifer Learmonth (SEPA), Elizabeth Leighton (WWF Scotland), Mark Lisk (Shetland Islands Council ), Jo Long ( SEPA), Susan Manson (East of Scotland Water), Scot Mathieson (SEPA), Bob McCafferty (City of Edinburgh Council), Martyn McKeown (North Ayrshire Council), Malcolm Muir (South Lanarkshire Council), Judith Parsons (Glasgow City Council), Bruce Philp (SAC), Peter Pollard (Scottish Wildlife Trust ), David Porch (East Renfrewshire Council), Alan Rae (Aberdeenshire Council), John Ramsay (SEERAD), Stuart Roberts (Angus Council), Ruth Rush (SEPA), Tony Seymour (FWAG), John Sheldon (West Lothian Council), Donald Stewart (Perth & Kinross Council), Alexander Taylor (Argyll and Bute Council), Gary Templeton (Moray Council), Cathy Tilbrook (Scottish Natural Heritage), Joly Tremeling (SEPA), Kiri Walker (SEPA), Michael Watters (Dumbartonshire Council) and Mark Young (University of Aberdeen and SEPA Regional Board Member).

ADLib logo Content provided by the Agricultural Document Library
© University of Hertfordshire, 2011